26 May 2007

This man is amazing....

I just downloaded "Haughty Melodic" by Mike Doughty. The album came out in 2005 and i am kicking myself for not getting it sooner. M. Doughty was the leader of the band Soul Coughing. (look them up, your ears will thank you)

These are the lyrics to my favorites song on the CD(so far)


MADELINE AND NINE

All my life I've been slow and senseless
Not struck dumb, I'm just dumb that's all
But I can give you the constellations
Lay down here and we'll count them all

Madeline, Madeline and nine

Call me back when the war is over
Call me back when your boyfriend's gone


Slave to the inside light
My world is burning on eternally
For the fire I lack
This flame is feeling fine

Give my eyes just for your intentions
Risk my back to impress you now
I'm so joyful that I have found you
All's I need's is to see you now

Slain by the words I lack
My world is bursting sappy music and
With the face so sad I long to make you mine




That's all for now


McNazty....

25 May 2007

the world is sick.....

This was on my Myspace bulliten board when I got home from the bar tonight. It's from Kim C.
Who is the wife of Rajolei Pickens (they are both good friends of mine who I don't talk to nearly enough)



***



I can't be silent about this anymore... Last Saturday, blues legend (and 3rd Ward resident) Little Joe Washington was riding his bike home from playing a show at the Continental Club when he was jumped by 3 young men around the El Dorado Ballroom. They didn't ask for money or take his bike - they just beat him. When Raj went to pick him up for a show on Tuesday he had a walker and was moving very slowly! Little Joe just turned 69 this past April and he still plays blues like most people have never seen live. You may have seen a little black man with long dreads wearing a cowboy hat and boots riding a bike and not even known that history was riding past you. It's ridiculous that a man who has been all over the world playing music can't even ride through the neighborhood where he has lived his whole life without being hurt by senseless violence. It's b.s.I watched that PBS special on 3rd Ward Texas and it showed the community coming together around Project Row Houses and how developers are coming in to gentrify 3rd Ward like they have in 4th Ward, Midtown and now Independence Heights. It's time to take back the Trey. No more prostitution. No more slanging on corners. No more shooting. It's not solving anything and people are coming in and taking what people have worked for all their lives. Where will we all go? The suburbs?Little Joe plays music to LIVE and if he can't do that what will he do? Raj and I make art because the CREATOR directs us to do so!!! We have hundreds of friends in this city who create and we all are working our asses off just to scrape by for our families. Who will help us? ONLY OURSELVES!!! We can't rely on the government to help us...they are trying to enslave us. Again I say it's B.S.!!!Real radical change comes when we pool our money and resources to buy our own land, grow our own food and teach our children in the ways of indigenous wisdom. If the artists, muscians and poets must lead the way, then let's DO IT! If you are feeling me, let me know! Thanks for reading my rant and have a blessed weekend!Peace & Blessings,kim pickens (aka kim c)mother/poet/artist/activist/human being

I'm sad...

I'm feeling down right now. My Xbox 360 just gave me the red ring of death. My plans for tonight are shot. And even worse NO VIDEO GAMES FOR 2 WEEKS WHILE THE CONSOLE IS GETTING REPAIRED! (well, I still have my trusty PC that I sank a bunch of money into to play games on but it's just not the same) Yeah, I know "boo fucking hoo". There is death and famine and war in the world . The people we elected to congress turned out to be a bunch of pussies because they went back on the Iraq funding bill. Hurricane season is coming.Gas prices are through the roof.(actually I don't drive so I'm not directly affected by that.) The Astros suck this year. There is never any good music on the radio. BLAH BLAH....there is all of this other shit to be sad about.....I WANNA PLAY SPIDER MAN GODDAMN IT!!!

Why does Microsoft suck so hard yet make such cool toys?

24 May 2007

Where do I start.....

  • The past few days have been interesting for me. I have been ill since Monday morning. Ill in body. Ill in spirit. Ill in temper. This morning I coughed up something green like I haven't coughed up since I was a pack a day smoker. I hope that this is a sign that I am getting better, I'm feeling better. Not 100%, but better than Monday.
  • Today on the way home I saw 3 people standing on a median holding placards protesting immigration reform. The signs said things like "Build the fence" and "say NO to amnesty" I yelled some stuff at them in Spanish like "Puta" and "Chinga tu madre'" which roughly translated means "Go fuck your mother" and "asshole". One of them told me to write my congressman. I'm guessing he had no clue I just cussed him out. I realize this may not win me any conservative readers but I really don't care how people get into this country as long as they earn an honest living and don't hurt anybody. Think about it; if we gave amnesty to 11 million Mexicans that means 11 million more taxpayers. And the new immigration reforms aren't really "amnesty" anyway. People who want to become legal citizens have to pay hefty fines and jump through a few flaming hoops.
  • Speaking of jumping through hoops. I have been having problems with my DSL as of late. Getting help from At&t customer service is like trying bathe a cat. They told me I need a new one of these. The problem is I can't find one anywhere. (yes I know i could order one online but I do not have a credit/debit card they get me into trouble) It's working right now though, so that's good.
  • "THE STATE" is now available on Itunes and on Xbox live. If you want a good laugh, you really can't go wrong.
  • This is the most disturbing/funniest thing I have seen all day.

21 May 2007

ugggh...........

I feel like shit, pure and utter shit. I have a sore throat, I'm achy, I'm a walking NyQuil commercial. I have to work a long ass day tomorrow too all because i couldn't read a person's handwriting. I yelled at people today, one of them was a cab driver who didn't want to fit my bike in his VAN (It can be done, I've done it before he just didn't want to make the effort of FOLDING DOWN A GODDAMN SEAT!!) Actually, I was rude to the person who drew a "2" that looked like a "7" I didn't yell. I will apologize to her later. It's just really difficult to be nice to someone when your body is being mean to you and you are facing the prospect of a 12 hour day because someones penmanship SUCKS (the fact that I am slightly dyslexic doesn't help either).

I realize I am being a whiny bitch. Most men turn into whiny bitches when they are ill though.

Will someone come kidnap me and feed me chicken soup and orange juice until I feel better? please?

20 May 2007

The next big thing....

Houston finally has a rock band to wash the taste of Blue October out of it's collective mouth. Thier name is Penny Royal. They fucking rock. If you happen to find yourself in Houston on Thursday night they are playing at Numbers for only 5 bucks. (I'm not really sure if I have any readers in Houston but what the hell.)

Couldn't have said it better


In case you don't know the man you see above is Hunter S. Thompson. He's dead now( he shot himself in Feb. of '05) and I'm still upset about it. He was a truly unique voice. This is what he had to say about my hometown.
"Houston is a cruel and crazy town on a filthy river in East Texas with no zoning laws and a culture of sex, money and violence. It's a shabby sprawling metropolis ruled by brazen women, crooked cops and super-rich pansexual cowboys who live by the code of the West -- which can mean just about anything you need it to mean, in a pinch."
That sums it up perfectly. You can read the whole article here. It's a scream.

Today in the news.....

This is great. This guy is calling that guy the "worst president ever". I love it.

Bad Habits

I'm drunk. I am going to go buy a pack of smokes. I quit 4 months ago but I'm tempted. It's hard to fight. Harder than cocaine. I know that. (It's kind of ironic really, seeing as coke is so much worse) Please do not think any less of me. I will probably end up giving the pack I buy away. But I need 1 or 2 right now.