11 July 2010

Where I've been...

I wonder if anyone will even read this. Where do I start? Fuck. FUCK. Fuuuccckk. In a lot of ways my situation has improved. I'm not living in a shitty hotel anymore. My job is stable albeit kicking me in the teeth on a daily basis. But on an emotional level I have been through the wringer, hell the spin cycle too. Shit. It's now 2:29AM CDT I have to be at work at 9:00AM CDT. But here I am writing in this blog that I haven't touched in 2 years, 2 months and five days. I guess I want to go to sleep but something isn't letting me. Where do I begin. Okay, enough, here we go.

In July of 2008 I met a woman let's call her Marie (maybe that's her real name, maybe it isn't. I'll never tell.) Marie is 5'3" a little on the heavy side and 10 years my senior. She was into bicycles, nirvana, good food, good wine, cheap beer, and The Grateful Dead. I thought she was cute, funny, smart, all the things that I think I'm not but for some reason people tell me that I am. She was amazing to me.
At first we weren't going to take things too seriously. It was kind of funny how we met. At the time I was chasing after another woman who had some great qualities but was a little on the crazy side. She thought that since I was poor and lived in a flop house at the time that I wasn't worth the trouble. I had asked her to go to see a movie (The Dark Knight.) with me. and the day we were supposed to go she never returned my calls. I decided to say "Fuck THIS" go by myself and be done with her.

... A few days later I'm sitting in my favorite little dive in Lakeview and I hear people talking about the movie so I decided to move over to their end of the bar and join in the conversation. And there she was. She hadn't seen the movie and I'm pretty sure that her only knowledge of Batman involved Adam West. But there she was talking about cool foreign films and the one Christopher Nolan film she had seen (Memento). We would say something and then she would interject something sort of related. It was cool. The people I had originally started talking to left and she stayed so I moved closer to her and introduced myself. I bought her a beer, one of the finest Pabst Blue Ribbon's the bar had to offer. And we talked for nearly three hours. About everything, politics, religion, music, everything. She told me interesting stories about the places she had been. And the fucked up job she had as social worker in Alaska. She was by far one of the coolest chicks I had ever met. We just started hanging out after that. The first time I tried to go home with her was pretty crazy. She had a fifteen year old Maine Coon cat that did NOT like me. He hissed at, scratched, and generally fucked with me. Essentially I was cock-blocked by a fucking house cat. I left not angry but definitely upset. I didn't call her. I didn't think she wanted to talk to me. I mean if a woman's pet can't stand you your'e done . Right? But, a few days later I received a text message saying "Haven't heard from you in a few days wanna hang out?"
**********************

I just looked at my clock it's now 3:30 AM CDT I need to try and sleep and my back is starting to hurt from being hunched over this keyboard for more than an hour. Goodnight for now.



to be continued....

No comments: